Semax: dosage in studies

Not a recommendation, not treatment guidance. This page shows only what published human studies used, with sources. This site does not say how much anyone should use of any substance. Fimea warns against using injectable peptides bought online: Fimea warning.

Semax doses in humans have been reported in Russian studies in stroke, peptic ulcer and motor neuron disease. They were published mostly in Russian, and the doses are from the English abstracts in PubMed [1, 2, 3, 4]B.

In the stroke and motor neuron disease studies the daily dose was 6-18 mg. Two studies state that Semax was given through the nose, but the abstracts of the stroke studies do not state the route [1, 2, 3, 4]B.

Doses used in studies

Doses used in published human studies. Not a recommendation.
StudyParticipantsDoseFrequencyDurationSource and level
Gusev et al. 1997 30 patients in the acute phase of ischaemic stroke; control group of 80 patients on conventional treatment Daily doses judged most effective: 12 mg (moderate stroke) and 18 mg (severe stroke); route not stated in the abstract Daily 5 or 10 days [1]B
Ivanikov et al. 2002 Patients with refractory peptic ulcers (number not given in the abstract); Semax added to standard ulcer drugs 1% solution through the nose, 2-4 drops 3 times a day 10 days [2]B
Serdiuk et al. 2007 27 people with motor neuron disease (open-label study) 12 mg a day through the nose (1% solution) Daily Two 10-day courses with a 2-week break [3]B
Gusev et al. 2018 110 patients in rehabilitation after ischaemic stroke, some of whom received Semax (number not given in the abstract) 6,000 µg a day; route not stated in the abstract Daily Two 10-day courses with a 20-day break [4]B

Evidence levels: A = randomised human trial or meta-analysis · B = observational human study or case series · C = animal study · D = cell or laboratory study · E = not peer-reviewed

Units: µg = microgram, written mcg in the calculator. A milligram (mg) is a thousand times larger.

Notes

Semax was given on top of other treatment: in stroke alongside intensive care or rehabilitation, and in peptic ulcer together with standard ulcer drugs [1, 2, 4]B.

In the peptic ulcer study the dose was given as drops of a 1% solution, not in milligrams [2]B.

What points the other way or is uncertain

In the motor neuron disease study Semax did not affect the loss of nerve supply or the clinical ratings; only the overall quality-of-life score improved [3]B.

In follow-up of brain damage after lack of oxygen (73 patients), the EEG in some cases showed paroxysmal activity after Semax was injected [5]B.

According to a 2026 review, Semax has been used in Russia for decades, but independent validation and systematic safety monitoring are lacking [6]B.

More on this

Read the research yourself: sources

  1. Gusev EI, Skvortsova VI, Miasoedov NF, et al. Effectiveness of semax in acute period of hemispheric ischemic stroke (a clinical and electrophysiological study). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 1997;97(6):26-34. (In Russian.) PMID 11517472
  2. Ivanikov IO, Brekhova ME, Samonina GE, et al. Therapy of peptic ulcer with semax peptide. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2002;134(1):73-74. PMID 12459874
  3. Serdiuk AV, Levitskii GN, Miasoedov NF, et al. The study of chronic partial denervation and quality of life in patients with motor neuron disease treated with semax. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2007;107(4):29-39. (In Russian.) PMID 18379501
  4. Gusev EI, Martynov MY, Kostenko EV, et al. The efficacy of semax in the tretament of patients at different stages of ischemic stroke. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2018;118(3 Vyp 2):61-68. (In Russian.) PMID 29798983
  5. Alekseeva GV, Bottaev NA, Goroshkova VV. Use of semax at a follow-up of patients with posthypoxic encephalopathy. Anesteziol Reanimatol. 1999;(1):40-43. (In Russian.) PMID 10199046
  6. Mavrych V, Shypilova I, Bolgova O. Therapeutic peptides in gerontology: mechanisms and applications for healthy aging. Front Aging. 2026;7:1790247. PMID 42021992

Sources checked in PubMed on 12 Oct 2026; none has been retracted. For Russian-language articles the PubMed abstract was used, and it does not state the route. Source 3 has the PubMed publication type randomised controlled trial, but its abstract describes an open-label study in sequential patient groups, so the level is B. Details for source 6 are from the full text.

Content is general information about research, not medical advice. If you have symptoms, contact a healthcare professional.